Biers, Bratwurst, and Birkenstocks: Mallory’s going to Berlin!

And so the countdown begins…!!! A little less than 24 until I will be traveling with twenty other students to the beautiful city of Berlin!!

This past semester, I got the opportunity to take a class called “First-Year Global Experience”. The class is for first-year students in the Leeds School of Business. Over the course of the semester, the class focused on Ethics, Expansion, and Efficiency in global economies. What better way to learn about an economy than going and visiting that place?! As a part of this class, I will be getting to go to several different business headquarters in Berlin, such as the Ministry of Education, Transparency International, the BMW Plant, Volkswagen, and more, to see first hand how they do things, Germany style!

I will be getting to spend a little over a week traveling around Berlin and I could not be more excited! The only time I have ever left the United States has been on a cruise ship going to a tropical island. I am excited to venture over to Europe and catch a glimpse of what the other side of the world is like. I will even get the chance to go to Dresden one of the days!

On my way to Berlin, I have about a 7 hour layover in Atlanta so I am hoping to get some reading done that I didn’t get a chance to do during school!

I cannot wait to see what Berlin and the rest of Germany has in store for me. Though my time in Berlin is short, I will do my best to update this blog while trying to make the most out of my experience. Follow me and my journey to the land of biers, brats, and Birkenstocks as I spend the next 10 days in Berlin!

Guten Tag!

Leave a Reply

